Is Greek Yogurt Vegetarian Friendly? 

 May 13, 2022

By  Diane Miles

Greek yogurt is a delicious, nutritious dairy snack that’s packed with protein and calcium. But some people wonder if it’s vegetarian.

Traditional Greek yogurt is vegetarian, since it’s made from goat’s milk and dairy is part of a vegetarian diet. However, some brands may contain gelatin, an ingredient derived from animal parts, which no longer makes it vegetarian friendly. The only way to be sure is to check its ingredients.

There are other things to understand if you want to know if vegetarians can eat Greek yogurt. Read on to learn more.

Can Vegetarians Eat Greek Yogurt?

Dairy is part of a vegetarian diet although all meat, poultry, and seafood products are not. Since goat’s milk is the primary ingredient in making old-fashioned Greek yogurt, this makes it a suitable snack for vegetarians.

Many conventional and western forms of Greek yogurt are made with cow’s milk, which still makes it vegetarian friendly. However, most supermarket brands offer Greek yogurt that has been made with gelatin, which no longer makes it vegetarian.

Gelatin is a non-vegetarian additive and stabilizer that is widely used by yogurt manufacturers to prevent yogurt from separating while keeping it creamy. While it isn’t made from meat, it comes from animal parts.

The best way to be sure if a specific Greek yogurt is appropriate for vegetarians is by checking what ingredients have been used, or opting for vegan Greek yogurt.

Popular Gelatin Free Greek Yogurt Brands

Vegetarians who enjoy Greek yogurt can still choose from a wide array of brands that you can find in the supermarket. Here are some popular gelatin-free options and their products that you can find on Amazon:

Oikos is a company renowned for their quality gelatin-free non-GMO Greek yogurt made with milk sourced from partner farmers that practice Regenerative Agriculture. Oikos as a company carefully curates partner farms and help support them through fair wages and long-term contracts; they also get to know the people who raise their cows. This way, consumers can have peace of mind that the yogurt you’re consuming is good for you, the people, and the environment. 

Stonyfield is an organic dairy company that makes gelatin-free Greek yogurt as well as milks, baby food, and snacks. They have been around since 1983 and have become a trusted name among vegetarians who are looking for organic, gelatin-free yogurts. Stonyfield takes pride in using only the highest quality ingredients which are sourced from organic farmers and grassfed cows for a healthier planet – and consumer.

Chobani is a famous American food brand that is well-loved by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike because of their commitment to making the world a better and healthier place. They are a values-driven wellness company that always makes sure to give back with numerous philanthropic projects and charity works. Today, Chobani’s high-quality gelatin-free yogurt products are considered among the best, and don’t contain any animal by-products.

Popular Supermarket Products To Avoid

There are many popular Greek yogurt brands in the supermarket which are not vegetarian. You may want to avoid these since these contain gelatin:

Making Your Own Vegetarian Greek Yogurt

For many yogurt consumers, there’s no better way to have full control of the yogurt you eat than by making it yourself at home. And the good news is that it’s so easy to make vegetarian Greek yogurt that’s free from gelatin.

One of the basic ingredients you’ll need is a vegetarian Greek yogurt starter. Here are some recommendations from Amazon:

You’ll also need a milk of your choice to make the yogurt, as well as a flavoring ingredient if you wish which you can also add at the end such as fruits to serve as toppings. Depending on the recipe you follow, you may need a yogurt maker though not all Greek yogurt recipes require the use of a specialized appliance.

As long as you have a vegetarian yogurt starter and make the Greek yogurt yourself, you can be sure that you have a delicious, nutritious, gelatin-free snack that you can enjoy any time of the day.


Greek yogurt is a healthy way for vegetarians to get more calcium and protein out of their diet. Just be sure to look for gelatin-free Greek yogurt.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}