There are many ingredients that go into making store-bought yogurt. One of these is gelatin, a protein derived from animals, which is used as a thickener. However, some people wonder if all kinds of yogurt have gelatin.
Not all yogurt contains gelatin. Some brands use pectin, a plant-based thickener and stabilizer, to make vegetarian-friendly yogurt. You can also make your own yogurt at home that’s free from gelatin.
Read on below to learn more about gelatin in yogurt.
Table of Contents
Does Yogurt Have Gelatin?
Some store-bought regular and Greek yogurt brands contain gelatin.
Gelatin is a safe, edible protein made from boiling animal parts, usually derived from pigs or cows. It’s used as a thickener and stabilizer to improve the texture and viscosity of yogurt.
However, not all yogurt brands have gelatin. Some brands use pectin to create vegetarian-friendly yogurt.
Popular Yogurt Brands That Have Gelatin
When shopping around for yogurt, these are popular brands you may come across which contain gelatin:
These popular brands yogurt brands use gelatin:
Popular Gelatin-Free Yogurt Brands
If you want to avoid gelatin, here are well-known brands that do not use gelatin in their yogurt:
For those who want to eat gelatin-free yogurt, these are well-known brands:
Only some yogurt brands use gelatin. If you want vegetarian or gelatin-free yogurt, there are many high-quality brands out there.